If teams of KeyACCIDENT users are going to upgrade to a newer KeyACCIDENT version, one of two things needs to be done:
- Upgrade all KeyACCIDENT users at the same time
- If only one user upgrades initially, create a new (test) database for use in the new version
Use the KeyACCIDENT Database module to upgrade a database from an older database version.
If you try to connect the KeyACCIDENT GIS (AutoCAD) module to any database that has not been upgraded, you will see this message:
When using KeyACCIDENT Database module to connect to an older version KeyACCIDENT database, you will see a series of messages:
Check the status bar to confirm database connection after completing the upgrade process.
If you haven’t connected, you can use the Database Connection Manager at:
Tools > Change Database (Connect to Existing / Change Database)
Please note
Older versions of KeyACCIDENT will not be able to connect to an upgraded database. They will see this message:
FAQ
Does every user of the new KeyACCIDENT version need to upgrade the database(s)?
No, each database only needs upgrading by one user
Does our KeyACCIDENT database need upgrading each time?
No, each database only needs upgrading once
Does every database need to be upgraded?
Yes, if you have multiple databases that you need to use, each needs to be upgraded once
Can our upgraded database version be reverted to work with the older KeyACCIDENT version?
Yes, but it is recommended to upgrade all KeyACCIDENT users to the most recent version
- To revert a database, you will need IT support
- A backup copy of the database has been created
- IT will need to restore to this backup using MS SQL Server Management Studio, or similar
Will upgrading to a newer database version change any data?
No, upgrading a database version will not change any data.